Victorian electricity industry

Victoria’s electricity industry structure was established in 1994 when the former SEC was privatised and the Victorian Government established a new regulatory framework.

Victoria’s electricity industry is split into four segments:

1. Generation

Generation companies produce electricity and compete to sell it in the wholesale National Electricity Market (NEM). The NEM is operated by the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO). AEMO co-ordinates the interconnected electricity systems of Victoria, New South Wales, South Australia, Queensland and the Australian Capital Territory.

2. Transmission

The Transmission sector transports electricity from generators at extra high voltage across Victoria to distributors like CitiPower and Powercor. Victoria’s transmission grid also connects with the grids of New South Wales and South Australia. AusNet owns Victoria’s transmission network.

3. Distribution

CitiPower and Powercor are two of five private networks that operate in the distribution sector of Victoria’s electricity industry. Distributors convert electricity from the transmission network into high and low voltages and deliver it to Victorian homes and businesses.

CitiPower and Powercor is focussed on providing a safe, reliable and cost effective electricity supply to meet our customers’ current and future needs..

4. Retail

The Retail sector of the electricity market sells electricity. Retail companies issue your electricity bill.

Victoria’s Essential Services Commission oversees the distribution and retail sectors of Victoria’s electricity market.

Electrical safety is regulated by Energy Safe Victoria (ESV).

The Energy and Water Ombudsman of Victoria (EWOV) can handle unresolved issues between electricity companies and customers.